Come on an urban journey with me

Carve out a time and place to try the photo scavenger hunt; write a blog post that includes a gallery of your images, and some thoughts on the experience.

The photoblitz assignment was a good test of my imagination for sure! I decided to use my house as the subject for my photos and see just how creative I could be in finding items that work. Also the location worked best because I have a friend visiting so I could do it in a setting that was easy for me to entertain as well. Here is a look at everything I found:

Let’s start our journey. Start your clocks!

Start time

Start time

Dominate single color

Dominate single color

Interesting shadow

Interesting shadow

Futuristic

Futuristic

Ant view

Ant view

Bright light

Bright light

I am proud of this shot since I had to wait for someone to walk by my window to capture it and got it in the first take!

Someone else's shoe

Someone else’s shoe

Also this was pretty cool idea too!

Inanimate object looks alive

Inanimate object looks alive

Converging lines

Converging lines

Do not belog together

Do not belog together

Repeating pattern

Repeating pattern

Photo in motion

Photo in motion

Image through a frame

Image through a frame

Photo of Joy

Photo of Joy

Abstract Photo

Abstract Photo

Metaphor for complexity TV cables

Metaphor for complexity

All things must come to an end!

End time on clock

End time

So the photos that required that did not require any special techniques worked best with my iphone camera. THe photo for motion was a little harder to do since the iphone counter acts movement. The most inventive photo was the pattern one. That was a napkin from a Virgin America flight and was very pretty.

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Come on an urban journey with me”

  1. CogDog says :

    Great outcome for finding the items on the list. I liked the cleverness of the inanimate object. For the “do not belong together” is that the cloth and the tile? Thats the only one I am not sure of.

    Hopefully it got you thinking on how to represent things (quickly) and experiment some with the camera.

    So did your visitor find it entertaining to watch you? I’ve done this with someone else, and its fun to see how two people can find different subjects in the same space.

    • ctwilker says :

      I am really proud of the inanimate object as well. That one was the hardest to come up with but really worked well when I found both of those items.
      The items that do not belong together is actually my roommates spare frig on bottom, FLOR carpet tiles on top, and the TV. All those things do not go together and i need to have the frig removed! ha!
      I did think fast and tried not to pre think but do it on the fly. So I printed the list and just checked it off as i went!
      My visitor did laugh as I was going through and doing random photos but liked some of the ones I got.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Reflect via photos | Escape from normal - April 6, 2014

Leave a Reply

