A week of fun, friends, photos, and NC!

I was glad I looked early in the week for what was required for assignments because I knew I had a trip to see my family in NC so I needed to be smart about what I could do now and when I was in NC. The photo assignments made the trip to NC a fresh look on items I could include beyond typical DC scenes. I used flashback safari as my title for the design elements we were supposed to find in the world. It fit since I took photos in New Bern and Raleigh, NC which were flashback to my youth. Oh I almost forgot the TED talk with the record and other elements of design was amazing and shows me how creative folks can be with materials and rethinking new concepts for old things. Also the video of symmetry was great and well produced. I could see myself thinking something like that up. The design document on google was a little over the top but I think it served its purpose. I would suggest making more graphical to break up the text that made you click to find the full information.
Okay back to my work. The Motivational Poster was fun to do and I chose a hike to the top of Kilimanjaro as my inspiration. It was fun to put together the concept in Photoshop and play around but again I am not as good in that program at all. I will practice in summer when I have more time. The second item was the six word memoir which I might print out and keep in my house. It was fun to think about on my life and be very simple. I used powerpoint for that assignment because I knew exactly how I would do it there and did not feel like fumbling around in Adobe.
A sheet of paper I leave out for guests reminded me that setting alarms can be scary and maybe a good story. Not sure I love that idea but seems like something that people could benefit from.
There were a lot of items to comment on and reflect on comments received by others. I personally saw a good story idea (http://bcodelson.wordpress.com/2014/04/14/139/comment-page-1/#comment-60) but got me thinking that some of our stories may never get seen if they are not easy to locate for people to read. I was reminded IKEA and how it can drive you wild but there may be hope. (http://cbedross1.wordpress.com/2014/04/13/storifying-take-4/) I was reminded that I am not always as good as I think on putting images to words. (http://lrosinskblog.wordpress.com/2014/04/13/one-of-my-all-time-favorites/comment-page-1/#comment-37) The pain of DMV is universal it seems and always a good story. I liked the idea of a story for DMV process http://chronicwnderlst.wordpress.com/2014/04/13/storify-this-va-dmv/comment-page-1/#comment-53 but was left wondering what the characters would be in the story.
The comments I received showed I was on the right track with how I was doing my stories and also I need to consider how the stories will be accessed by folks or characters. I made sure I used that thought when I looked at some others I commented on, beyond being careful with my thoughts on story. I was also reminded it is important to give a url or site name for places I find images, that is easy to forget when blogging.
Overall, I was good this week on looking ahead, thinking things through, and using life events to my advantage to do my homework and not take away from personal life. It worked out well and was fun to know a photo I was taking for life would also double for school. I can tell I need to get better at photoshop because Friday was a little bit of a struggle to get going with my ideas on poster but I got it down finally.

And as a bonus here is a photo of my niece (Britni) and me infront of Tryon Palace with my friends and mom in the background. She is 11 years old going on 20. Haha.

Britni and Uncle Clayton

Britni and Uncle Clayton

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “A week of fun, friends, photos, and NC!”

  1. Alan Levine (@cogdog) says :

    BOOM! For being on the road and visiting, you more than achieved the desired goals for the week. Your work continues to be well written and shows me very clearly how you are thinking and doing your assignments. And its fun to see your photos.

    I think you may have the winner of a project idea in the alarm device.

    And bonus, you gave some good design advice on the class google doc, that is spot on.

    • ctwilker says :

      Thank you. It is fun to get to mix in school and your real world life that needs to happen too. So why not combine them and get a little fun in there.

Leave a Reply

