Determination

For this week you should complete two ds106 design assignments, each should be posted to your blog, appropriately tagged and categorized.

For my first design assignment I decided to do the Motivational Poster with one of my old photos I had from my trip Africa. I remember how determined I was to not only raise the money for the charity event but also climb to the top of Mt. Kilimanjaro. Everything about that trip was life changing and just amazing. I was so glad I did it for my 30th birthday and glad to share it with you now. So here is my motivation poster titled “Determination”.

Motivational Poster - Determinaton

Motivational Poster – Determinaton

The photo was taken at the top of the mountain after hiking for six days through different types of terrain and getting ever higher in altitude. I basically broke down into tears after this photo was taken from the exhaustion and joy of being done. After all the camping, hiking, and just physical/mental endurance it was so great to be done. And truth be told we were at 19,000+ feet (pay attention the next time you fly when you reach that allitude if you have a video screen that tells you) so you are tired from lack of oxygen.
I used photoshop to create this poster and used four layers. I had the black background layer, the image layer, and two layers for the title text and the sentence. I tried to keep with the spirit of the motivational posters you normally see and think it came out well. I think the hardest part for me was the black background (picking color and getting it right) and finding the center tool.

If you ever want to do a life changing event combined with some adventure travel check out Charity Challenge who made it all happen!

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Determination”

  1. chronicwndrlst says :

    I LOVE this motivational poster! There are so many stories that can be generated from it. Your tidbit relating 19,000 ft to when a plane reaches that altitude goes a long way (pun intended) in illustrating your journey and the crux of your motivational poster.Imagine going up 19,000 ft on foot! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Alan Levine (@cogdog) says :

    As a concept and rationale this is top notch. And from the photo, I can not see anything like tears, I see some fierce pride. Your story definitely is one that fits the inspirational mode.

    My design suggestion involves the caption of the poster. It’s almost impossible to read because of the size of the font and more so, the dark blue color. Most of these posters use white text on the black background, which stands out, and much larger font size.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. A week of fun, friends, photos, and NC! | Escape from normal - April 14, 2014

Leave a Reply

