My new friend! Thanks Westin Hotels.

For this two week segment you should complete two more ds106 video assignments, each should be posted to your blog, appropriately tagged and categorized. All videos should have an opening and closing title/credits sequence.

For the second assignment I was looking around the possible items and came across the one that requires you to use Vine. This really sparked my interest since Vine has made a huge splash in the video space with just 6 seconds of footage. People are no longer going to their desktops to create video they are doing it right on their phones. Now I have never done Vine and this was a good excuse to practice. I had no idea it was so hard! You can’t dub in the music so you have to do that at the same time. So I had to go through my shot sequence with thinking where I would put my laptop to play the music. Since I am in a hotel this week and they did a towel animal it was too cute not to use. I came up with a story that he is my new friend and he spends the day with me while I work. He loves popcorn so I give him some at the end to say thanks. I had to do this a few times because the towel animal would fall apart as I moved him, or the song wouldn’t go so well, or the shot was dumb when I played it back. You are able to touch the screen and release to move to the next scene but that is it. No editing after or anything so you have to start over. Not sure how these folks do it with so many vines online.

Here you go! My first Vine and the future of video creation on your phone. (Make sure you click the speaker icon in upper left to turn on sound)

Screen shot of the Vine App:

screen shot of Vine app recording

screen shot of Vine app recording

The source file for the song is

Also this does make me want to try another one at Christmas with my nieces and nephews. They are such hams!

Tags: , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. I may just go to Hollywood after all! | Escape from normal - May 8, 2014

Leave a Reply

